What's new

Thoughts on a Mid-Range Gaming/Performance PC Build

Just to let everyone know, this is my first time attempting to build my own PC. I've installed pretty much all the components on various computers I've owned over the years, so it shouldn't be too bad. All I'm really looking for is something mid-range geared towards performance and gaming (to an extent) that won't need to be upgraded for a few years, atleast.

This is sort of an adopted build from a "recommended" build site with a few differences; wanted to see what you guys think and if there's anything you'd improve upon:

Motherboard: GA-P67A-UD3-B3
Graphics: Radeon HD 6870. Might go a bit lower than that, but 6870 isn't much of a stretch, expense wise.
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500k
OD: Undecided, just something decent. Probably just a standard Asus or Samsung DVD burner.
Power Supply: Rosewill RG530-S12
RAM: Patriot 4GB
HD: Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB. 500GB should be enough, but 1TB is only $40 more.
Case: Still looking around, I kinda like both the NZXT M59-001BK M59 and Cooler Masters.

Is there anything here that I could replace with something else that would give me equal performance at a lower price? $1000 is about my baseline, more or less. I don't need something that's going to do the graphics for an upcoming Star Wars movie, just something that will basically do and play virtually anything I want for a few years to come.

Thanks in advance :001_smile

i would think a grand would get you more than a midrange.. i have fallen off the PC builds and stopped following the pc sites.. but just as a comment will 4 gigs be enough? i remember os's like windows couldn't recognize more in a non-64 bit OS, but 4 seems low.