What's new

Stone comparison needed

Anyone ever use a a 12k shapton and 12k naniwa?

How do there smoothness and cut lines compare?

Looking to pull the trigger on a finishing stone and these two are the ones I’ve been eyeing.

Thanks folks!

I've only used the Naniwa, but it was very nice. I sold it off when I got into natural finishers, the Escher and Hard Arkansas are now my new favorites. Neither are cheaper than a Naniwa, well maybe the arks. Good luck to you sir!

I believe Naniwa uses the JIS grit rating system and Shapton uses the US mesh system. Therefore the Naniwa 12k would more readily compare to a Shapton 16k. I primarily sharpen on Jnats so I have little knowledge on how the two feel which is honestly the most important part of a stone.

I've only used the Naniwa, but it was very nice. I sold it off when I got into natural finishers, the Escher and Hard Arkansas are now my new favorites. Neither are cheaper than a Naniwa, well maybe the arks. Good luck to you sir!
Guess O have a couple other stones to look at!

Thanks

I believe Naniwa uses the JIS grit rating system and Shapton uses the US mesh system. Therefore the Naniwa 12k would more readily compare to a Shapton 16k. I primarily sharpen on Jnats so I have little knowledge on how the two feel which is honestly the most important part of a stone.
This is what ive been using on my kitchen knives.
https://www.amazon.com/s/?ie=UTF8&k...t=&hvlocphy=9006252&hvtargid=kwd-307313967731

Guess I would need the next step up for a finishing stone then. I enjoy using the waterstones a lot and was kinda hoping to keep using them up through the progress.

I own a Naniwa 12k and have finished on a Shapton Pro 12k. IME the Shapton left a harsher more surgical feeling edge.

https://www.amazon.com/s/?ie=UTF8&k...t=&hvlocphy=9006252&hvtargid=kwd-307313967731