What's new

Souring Simpson fan

I was a pretty big Simpson fanboy. I have a Special and a Duke 3, both in best. The Special has always shed 1-2 hairs per shave which I didn't think was awful considering the price and nice hair. It has been my travel brush, but I've been working it into the regular routine for a few months.

I bought a Duke 3 about six months ago, lightly used. Very nice hair, no shedding for the first few months. The Duke 3 was easily closest to the Goldilocks brush of any I had owned. But, in the last couple of months, it has started shedding between 2-6 hairs per shave and when I've done the recommended cleaning, brushing etc, it sheds ~10-20 hairs. I rinse them out really well each shave and use brushes, at most, every other day to allow them to dry. The only thing I can think of that changed is I used MWF consistently for a few months and it seems to have started the shedding around that time. Uniquely amongst my soaps, it has lanolin and works best, IMO, by creating kind of a paste with a dry-ish brush and then adding water while face lathering.

Anyway, it is disappointing. I've read the advice of others with shedding issues and tried a number of things recommended, so I'm not really asking for advice. Just bummed.

OTOH, my Rudy Vey with a Shavemac 2-band knot hasn't shed at all. I guess I know where my money is going in the future.

I've had no shedding problems with the three or four Simpsons brushes I've used, but have read quite frequent posts about those who have. At the prices Simpsons charges for many of its brushes, this really ought not to happen. There seem to be many fewer complaints about Shavemac, who probably don't sell as many brushes but still shift a very substantial number.

Sir Noodles, have you tried to ask Simpson to replace you shedding brush?
And, no doubt, Rudy Vey brushes are also great!!

It's a bit of a crapshoot....with brushes.

My Simpson M6 has no problems since day one, a Shavemac brush I purchased