What's new

Several Questions from a Straight Razor Initiate

I've been shaving with a DE now for several months and have been enjoying every second of it. I was enticed this morning into buying a vintage straight razor and now I've got to try and figure out how I'm supposed to use the thing before it gets here. I've perused the interactive guide a bit, but I've still got a few questions.

First of all, I'm not sure if I 'need' or should purchase a barber's hone. The razor is coming shave ready and I ordered a strop along with it.

Second, I see all sorts of different oils and metal polishes and strop pastes, etc. Are any of these things something a beginner should get or are they rather things that might need to be used on a razor after a matter of months have passed?

I'll be spending a good amount of time before the razor comes soaking up information on its proper use and care, but are there any small tips that may be overlooked elsewhere?

If the razor you're getting is genuinely shave ready, you won't need a barbers hone for a few months. Just be careful when stropping though because it's easy to roll the edge. I wouldn't be worrying oabout pastes at this stage. If your new strop has linen and leather, that will be fine.

Good luck with it all.

I would get some CrOx on balsa wood for touch ups. Depending on how much you screw up the blade, you won't really need to use the paste for a while.

After a few months go by and your pastes don't work well enough, then get a hone.

When my blade started pulling, I went for the hone first. I was against pastes and didn't want to buy them. The hone didn't give me a smooth shave and after being urged to try the paste, I finally agreed and it really helped.