What's new

Rocnel SE-G Reviews?

I just got mine today, and it's a beauty. I haven't yet seen any users or reviews on this forum, although Bullgoose has posted some amazing photos. He's apparently sold out of them in a week or two, which tells me some folks own them. Anyone out there using one? What're your thoughts?

I have 3 shaves under my belt with the Rocnel GEM SE. Here's just a broad brush comparison with the vintage GEMs. This is not a one-to-one comparison of any individual vintage GEM vs this new razor. My experience with the Vintage is that I have shaved with 1912s, 1912 Juniors, Damaskeenes, G-Bars, Contours, the pushbutton. I am not an expert with vintage GEMs. But I do have some familiarity with many. As for the final result, I get the same high-quality shaves from the new GEM as I do with the vintage GEMS. The main difference for me, is that the razor for the most part feels more sturdy, more substantial, like the razor itself is adding to the rigidity to the already rigid GEM blade; giving me confidence to attack heavy growth without tugging, which sometimes happens with some of my vintage GEMs. Maybe it's technique on my part, but for the 3rd shave in a row, I've had NO tugging, only a sensation of a sturdy tool, cutting through beard growth.

For a large part of my vintage GEM shaving experience, many times I would feel a sense of flex, like maybe the head is moving just a wee bit. Not sure if that is actually happening. But I think the Rocnel's handle is closer to the center of the razor's head than that of most vintage GEMs. So, this reduces the moment arm, or leverage so there might be less tendency for the head to "flex" a bit. Also, there is substantially more material on the Rocnel where the handle goes into the head...like a beefed-up flange. This too adds to the overall stability of this razor.