What's new

Really? (Kai)

Are Kai blades actually expensive?

I'm brand new to this hobby and definitely feel the attraction all you guys already know about. It's delightful to "solve" a lifelong shaving problem after 52 years (first shave 1971, with the then-new Trac II). Especially since I didn't even know it could be "solved." I've been a little obsessed, which seems a bit strange—although maybe you can relate.

So I've really only just gotten "the lay of the land." But I've tried enough razors to settle on one (although I will keep maybe five); settled quickly on oil rather than lather; and am pretty sure I'm close to being settled on Kai blades, which go together with a wartime Tech like cheese with crackers or peanut butter with jelly.

But here's a thing that kinda makes me smile: the people who say Kai blades are "too expensive" to be their regular blade...

...When they probably have 30 soaps, 10 aftershaves, multiple hundred packs along with dozens of partially used tucks in their drawer, and twenty razors!! ...And at least a few of those are small-run bespoke models CNC'd from high-spec metals!

Yet they can't afford 30¢ for a blade?

...That will last for ten shaves or maybe even more?

kai.jpg

The blade that need not speak its name. (Shhh.)

My time is valuable (well, to me), but I'm sorely tempted to go through the KAI Participation PIF thread back-to-front and log all the shaves people report getting out of one single Kai blade. One B&B'er, Demolition, got 63(!). The outlier on the low side gave up at about shave seven, I think, which is still pretty good. One guy, B_R_A_D, said he reached double digits on one blade for the first time ever. Another, Chaucer, got 20 shaves from one Kai before moving on. In another thread, one person said he routinely goes 10, and another 12, and a third 15. Another said only six.