What's new

Question regarding the awful taste stuck on my tongue

So I finally got a good load last night with some Carter Hall and my awesome PIF win (thanks Casey). What's the deal with this taste that gets stuck on my tongue? Even after I brush my teeth and scrub my tongue the taste will not go away and my breath does not get fresh. Am I smoking too fast?

Crud. What does it taste like? I wonder if the pipe was sour. If it is I'm sorry brother, I couldn't taste or smell anything off about it before I sent it out.

It's a pretty pungent, sour taste for sure. I'm not for certain it's the pipe as I have had this same taste before when I have tried cigars. It's really hard to pinpoint, but I didn't notice it with my Cob. I was trying out a different tobacco too. I'm just trying to figure out if there's a flaw in my technique. Did I smoke too fast? Did the tobacco get too hot? I'm new at this so maybe it's me and not the pipe?

It's a pretty pungent, sour taste for sure. I'm not for certain it's the pipe as I have had this same taste before when I have tried cigars. It's really hard to pinpoint, but I didn't notice it with my Cob. I was trying out a different tobacco too. I'm just trying to figure out if there's a flaw in my technique. Did I smoke too fast? Did the tobacco get too hot? I'm new at this so maybe it's me and not the pipe?

Yes you probably smoked too fast and let it get too hot. What you suffered is "tongue bite" which happens when you bombard your tongue with hot baccy at a fast pace. Slow your cadence (puffing) down to ~once every 10-15 seconds. Also, pipes will often go out, so just have some patience and re-light. Once you find that happy medium of how to load your pipe, have the correct draw and cadence it should smoke much cooler and your tongue won't try to disown you.