What's new

Question about the Merkur slant bar

I've been reading about the Merkur slant and one product description said it is not for new shavers and those unaccustomed to shaving with a double edge. I have a lot of experience with shaving with a safety razor, but does a slant require an entirely different technique to avoid cuts? Is someone new to a slant likely to chop their face off.?

Absolutely not.
If you have some experience with a DE and have a good sense of maintaining angle and pressure, you should be just fine. It is a bit more agressive than most DE's so light pressure is very important. I must admit I am a bit biased; I love my slant and often shave with it even tho I more frequently shave with str8's.
Most of the posts I have seen appear to fall in the category of "love it" or "hate it." I think if you have reasonable technique and give it a chance, you will love it. For me, nothing better than my slant with a feather blade in it.

My technique isn't great with an HD quite yet and I have less or equal nicks with a slant. The same things are important - pressure and angle.

I like it so far, the thing just glides through stubble. Try it out!

Jman --

Here's a re-run of an old post I made. It was for a new wet shaver who was starting out using a slant.

Welcome to B&B!!

Starting with a Slant is a little unusual, but ok in the long run. You'll just have to be attentive (as you should be in any case).

I wouldn't consider the Slant as 'aggressive' necessarily; the only thing is that the slant pretty much requires good technique. The slant induces a twist to the blade, and this results in more of a shearing action during the shave that provides an exceptionally close and smooth shave.