What's new

Progressive Loading for AR15

I have been loading now for about 15 years. I have thousands or rifle and pistol rounds and under my belt loading on a cheap LEE starter kit press and then a Rockchucker. I upgraded to a Dillon 550B about 6 years ago and love this machine. I had been sitting on a decent pile of 223 reloads and I'm not a high volume consumer of the round. I maybe burn up 400 each year. I can prove my abilities and get enough practice with maybe 20 to 60 rounds per range trip.

I am now at a point where i need to reload and I am buying the conversion kit and tool head to put my die set into. What i am curious about regarding guys shooting in volume and therefor reloading in said volume, using AR15s what are your practices and concerns in regards to the brass?
- I already sort my brass between commercial and military. I typically de-prime my brass on the Rockchucker down in my garage, and sort before running them through the wet tumbler. My primary reason for this is to know what I need to come back and swage primer pockets and what can go straight to the press. So I don't intend to change this process.​
- Checking length and trimming... this is where my instruction and my assumptions begin to conflict. I loath trimming cases. I used to check the length of each case to ensure it was within range before I would batch brass for reloading. I tossed the shorties into scrap and set the long ones aside and on a rainy weekend. I would run them through a redding trim die that required the use of a file to trim the brass to length.​
I no longer have a bolt gun, and my chambers on my AR rifles are all either 556 or 223 Wylde. Can I get away with not trimming brass with these? Ideally, I would love to be able to be done with the trimming altogether for this cartridge going through these guns.