What's new

polo shirts

OK, I have a bit of OCD so please hear me out and help if you can.

I have been wearing Timberland polos almost exclusively for the last several years. Along the way there have been some sizing issues and some quality issues. However, with their latest iteration, the material is too thin and the collars take on weird shapes after a wash. They used to be "machine wash warm" and now they are "machine wash cold". If I follow those directions, there's little chance of the shirt actually getting cleaned. I recently ordered one and ended up sending it back.

Prior to that I used to wear Patagonia (a big plus that they were organic). They ended up going downhill and now they no longer even offer a pique polo that is 100% cotton.

I'm now trying to find some other brand. Here are a few I have looked at and don't care for:
- Polo Ralph Lauren: The gold standard for polo shirts, perhaps, but I find the arm holes too snug for comfort. And I'm not talking about wearing a size that fits tight on the shoulders and rest of the body.
- Kent Wang - Too much of a slim fit for me. Even in XL (which I find too long), it is uncomfortably snug.
- Brooks Brothers - I don't like the formaldehyde treatment that makes them wrinkle-free.
- Lacoste - Machine wash/dry is not recommended -- hand wash/hang dry. I don't have the patience for that.

I looked at several polos at Nordstrom's but with most of the brands, the material is too thin, and many of them are not machine wash/dry. The fitting also tends to be snug (slim fit). I'm not super skinny and I don't like the shirts hugging my body.

So, do you folks have a recommendation for a brand of polos that has worked for you that allows machine wash/dry, doesn't have any treatments to make it wrinkle free, has a classic fit (reasonably sized arm holes, not too snug for a person with an average body), and where the material is not too thin?

Thanks.