What's new

Polishing DE Razors With a Dremel (howto)

I always see "how to clean DE" threads and "how to polish DE" threads, but I've never seen one about polishing razors with a Dremel :confused:. So I figured I would make one :biggrin:

Let me first say that I would NOT advise you to do this on plastics and I have no experience with gold plated razors so do that at your own risk. :rolleyes:

Now that we have that out of the way lets get started. Today, my razor of choice is a Gillete Fatboy.

proxy.php

As you can see there are some water spots on the silo doors as well as couple of soap stains on the inside, all in all, it needs a good polish. Here's a small list of things that you're going to need.

-Dremel (variable speed)
-Maas or other polish
-Old toothbrush
-Soft cloth
-Light oil
-Nylon polishing wheel
-Dish soap

A small note on the polishing brush for the dremel. I'm using the bigger nylon one. They also make a smaller brush that will most likely be easier to polish the head with.
proxy.php

The first step that you want to take is to rub Mass all over the part that you're going to be polishing. Easy enough huh?

proxy.php

Next you need to put your nylon brush in the dremel and set it to the lowest speed possible. Then, begin lightly polishing the maas onto the DE.

proxy.php

You'll notice that it's going to turn a gunmetal grey/black, that's OK because it will be washed off later. Just make sure that you cover every nook and cranny of the razor.

proxy.php

proxy.php

After polishing you're going to want to run some warm water into a cup and mix it with a little dish soap. Then, scrub off all of the Maas with a toothbrush and wipe dry with a soft cloth.

proxy.php

Add a few drop of light oil to all of the moving parts and "Voila!" a razor that is fit for drooling over.

proxy.php
proxy.php
:drool::drool::drool: :001_wub: