What's new

Newbie Review: DR Harris Lavender

I was the lucky winner of this PIF, which means I owe a review. This review is long overdue, so forgive me. Also consider that I'm still a newbie (2.5 months in), though I've been shaving for 30 years and so I had a baseline from which to work, but I don't have a ton of comparative data from a lot of soaps. Also also, this is my first official product review. :001_smile

The packaging was very nice - a classic box and a paper wrapper. The first sniff was nice, but didn't reveal much. I pressed the puck into a 4" tin container after trimming a tiny bit off the sides to get it in (because the top of the tin rounds in a little).

Scent - 6/10

The scent is very pleasant, not overly floral and certainly not overpowering. It's nice when I'm shaving and I get a whiff. That's all I get, though - it's definitely subtle. This is a little disappointing for me, as the olfactory stimulation is part of the joy of shaving. I like the amount of scent that I get from Proraso and Strop Shoppe. If you don't like a strong scent, this would be a great choice.

Lather (Amount, Slickness) - 7/10
I really struggled here. I tried bowl-lathering and just couldn't get it right. Too little water and it just foamed up into a dry, flaky mess. Too much water and it just foamed up and slopped around and managed to be dry at the same time. In both cases, I spent way too long trying to get something usable, but there was almost no slickness and I ended up starting over, or putting another cream on my face first for cushion, or switching to another soap altogether mid-shave. I was ready to give up and just PIF it and be done, happy to have been able to try it and disappointed in the experience (and myself).