What's new

Newbie question

Hello everyone. I’m relatively new here and I’ve been looking for some post or information about Razor, and wet shaving in general, hardware restoration. I’ve recently purchased a few vintage razors here and there and would love to restore them. Any guidance offered from the B&B group I’m sure would be terrific, so I’m looking but maybe not in the right areas as I’m still learning the ropes. Where should I be looking? Thanks.

Phil

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

There are different sections of B&B for different types of razor (double edged, single edged and straight) and all of them contain numerous threads about restoration. However, the latter word takes in everything from cleaning off soap scum to repairing quite serious mechanical defects, so how hard you will need to look depends on exactly what you're looking for. It might just be a matter of scanning down each sub-forum, or posting a question about the specific issue or issues facing you. Generally speaking, somebody will either answer you or point you in the direction of an existing thread with the answer.

Gotcha. Thanks for the info. I just didn’t want to go posting questions if the answers are already out there in a thread, but there is a lot of stuff to look through so I like your idea of posting and then getting pointed in the right direction. Some forums I’ve been on seem to frown on posting what they call “repeat questions” that have been discussed before. It’s just hard to find the answer sometimes even if they have been discussed, at least for me lol.

Luc

"To Wiki or Not To Wiki, That's The Question".
Staff member
Welcome to the site, please post some pictures of what you have and you will probably get more specific answers/help on restoring your razors. You can post them here. You already got some very good advice above.

Thanks so much everyone. I will post some pics and questions on the specific razors I’m restoring when they arrive. I appreciate it.