What's new

Newbie question

Although I've been shaving with a DE for a couple years, I never bothered to use a shave brush until about a month ago. I bought me an Omega boars head bristle brush and I liked it. So I got to thinking that maybe a badger brush would be even better. So I order a Savile Row Super badger and was disappointed. Just not firm enough for my face.... I sold the brush a few days later. Now I haven't given up on getting a badger brush; I figure I just lack experience in this matter. Question: Does a bigger knot translate in to a firmer brush? That would be bad news because, while I do want a firmer brush, I don't want a larger knot... a 20mm knot would suffice just fine for me. The Savile had a 25mm knot (too big for me!) Could use some input on this matter.

Thanks

Question: Does a bigger knot translate in to a firmer brush?

NO

A firmer brush would be one that is more densely packed regardless of knot size.
The shape of knot is also important. For a firmer brush you need a bulb shaped know.

The Savile row supers you purchased are not as dense. Now if you purchase a SR Silvertip in the smaller knot size (18mm 22mm) they will come super dense, and firm just to your liking.

I will say the same for shavemac's smaller knots firm and dense

hope that helps. No need to buy a bigger knot for a firmer brush

I don't love stifer brushes, but I think it is quite the opposite, big brushes tend to be more fluppy and smaller ones are more stifer

I think the Simpson is a great one for you, and also the Savile Row SilverTip is much more stiffer and if you get it in size of 22m you can't go wrong

But, I hope other people will try and answer you more

NO

A firmer brush would be one that is more densely packed regardless of knot size.
The shape of knot is also important. For a firmer brush you need a bulb shaped know.