What's new

Just the facts. First Fountain Pen, for a street cop.

Me: Old school is my school. I start each work day out with an 0500 shower and shave with a Gillette 195 Fatboy, badger brush, and uberlather of the day. That is followed up by hand grinding coffee beans for my morning cup. I like 1095 carbon steel pocket knives and take the time to keep them blistering sharp. I wear a Seiko Monster automatic time piece because I love the mechanical aspect of it. My favorite alarm clock is a wind up travel clock and I love vintage cast iron. Old ways are the best ways.

I've been riding the streets since the mid 1990s....so I've seen some things and have come to an age in my life where I appreciate the finer things in life....on a budget. Good whiskey, good chocolate, etc.

I was scratching out a routine, mundane report yesterday and looked down at the Papermate Flair I was using and thought "Now that seems a bit ordinary for use on duty". I love the way it prints as far as the size of the writing and others have commented on my handwriting with as well as the "darkness" of the ink. I want a pen that is elegant and not disposable. I want to enjoy writing enough to take my mind off of the depressing facts that I sometimes have to jot down.

So here is what I need. I need a fountain pen that can survive the day in and day out struggles of a metro street cop. Hot weather, cold weather, rough conditions......it might have to take some abuse. Leaks can't be tolerated. I detest writing tickets and only do so when there is no other option so that will be covered by my Fisher AG7 which has been a solid performer. This fountain pen will be for case reports, alarm cards, documentation reports, etc. This won't be used or expected to perform on any multi page/part documents.

I have searched these threads at length. I know the Lamy is huge for a starter pen as is the Pilot Metropolitan and 78g. The problem? I hate the way they look.