What's new

Is this set up right for me?

Some background: grew up in a smoking household. Dad has smoked all my life, mom quit when i was 12. I smoked from age ~14-24 and am 28 now. Still have a pipe and 2 hookah's that i go to on occasion and enjoy the occasional cigar. I like to wind down after work with a drink and smoke but hate cleaning up the hookah and don't like having smoke smell on me at work since i work in a pharmacy.

This is where i stumble across vaping.. I am a pharmacy manager at a high volume store and have a decent bit of stress which used to be my go to for smoking, having been clean for 4 years this thanksgiving I don't want to start back up. I have been looking at picking up a little mod kit to keep my cravings satisfied. After a few days of internet research I have found that some of the best advice has been that not everyone has the same needs so I would like some opinions on a starter kit.

What I know: I am technically inclined and love to tinker, but since this is mostly an after work thing I am fine using off the shelf equipment (for now) and don't need to start out with some DIY level stuff. I am fine buying heads and liquid and using a unit as-is.

I have looked at enough reviews in the last week to make my head spin but keep coming back to one setup..

Kangertech K-box
Kanger subtank plus

Looking for advice from someone who may have similar usage needs to mine or who has experience with these or other similar products. Ask any questions i have not covered if it helps guide me for my first purchase.

Thanks,
~Moe

*edit. looking to keep this reasonably priced, under $100 including some starter juice.*

Last edited:
Do you want something that chucks clouds or more like a cigarette. Regardless the kit you stated above is not the one I'd recommend.

I dont need huge clouds, but will not turn down the ability to do some smoke tricks.

Any particular reason for advising against that setup? (still educating myself on all this stuff)