What's new

I'm a newbie and I have a LOT of questions

I have had a pipe for a while actually. I bought a meerschaum pipe while on deployment to enjoy with a good friend as a way to unwind sometimes. It was fine, but when we returned and we're both discharged I lost the desire. About two years ago my brother and I both decided to take up the hobby as something we could enjoy together. Well it never majorly caught on as we don't live in the same town and didn't see each other often.
Life being what it is I decided it would be a good way for me to unwind by myself and also to unplug from the constant overstimulation of modern society. I have been smoking my pipe a couple of times a week at least lately, and I have really been enjoying the time for reflection.
However I have a boatload of questions now. I read through the basic threads that I was directed to, and really that just led to more questions.
So I am seeking out all of my most experienced and learned B&B colleagues now.
First question, how important is the cake and how do I remove a too thick cake?
This is just the beginning, gentlemen. I will have much more questions.

Commander Quan

Commander Yellow Pantyhose
If you are still using your meerschaum you will want to keep the cake buildup to as little as possible, or preferably none. If you are using a brier, somewhere around a nickles width is appropriate. There are different reamers that are available some are adjustable, others just have different sized cutting sections. You can also get away with using a small knife, or wrapping some sandpaper around a dowel or your finger but be careful you don't scuff up the rim.

Edit 5,000th post. Go me! :a23:

Does everyone let a cake build up? I've seen some estate pipes with a lot of cake and it looks not only like it would be gross to smoke in, but it also makes the bowl much smaller.