What's new

How different are all these various DE blades?

Having worked as an engineer, I know that many "labels" are simply just labels - private labels. And often, one factory manufactures the same product for various companies. I have been wet shaving with a variety of different blades for a few months now, both DE and single edge shavette. I do see how certain shavette blades, such as Feather Proguard are different, in that they have ribs or combs that affect the path of the blade. But I have not seen much of a difference with respect to DE blades or non-guarded shavette blades. I have used "very sharp" blades like Feather and some that are rated not so sharp. I control the angle with my adjustable Gillette or shavette and I control the pressure. And I believe that DE shaving is better and safer than cartridges. I have nicked myself with cartridges, but not yet with DE or shavette blades. But I am unable to tell the difference between a Feather, Kai, Voskhod, Polsilver, etc. They all seem like great blades to me and they do a good job. Perhaps the differences are subtle and I am unable to discern them. I'm hoping someone here can provide some insight here. And I know it's a personal choice, but I would also welcome recommendations on good blades and which ones to avoid. Thanks for your responses.

I can't tell you why ( maybe I lack the vocabulary ) but I can tell minor differences between many blades. Sometimes it's mainly 'comfort' related. Sometimes I notice the difference in the actual outcome of the shave either through direct output or perhaps longevity.