What's new

Hone for beginner

When using a BBW is it advised to use a BBW slurry stone, or is it advised to use a coticule slurry stone?

There are these combo slurry stones available that may fit the bill when using Bart's three stone Diamond/BBW/Coticule method.

Yeah, you want to use a coticule slurry stone for the coticule slurry and a BBW slurry for the BBW slurry. You don't want to mix them

A DMT could work if you don't have a slurry stone.

But yes, those combo slurry stones are great (that's what I have and use :thumbup1:)

My new coticule is at home already. I received it during this week.
Size is 175*40.
Although I am new to straights, and I was having a shave ready razor that I used like 6-7 times, I decided to try the coticule just with water.

First attempt was quite difficult. New sensations.
have used the coticule just with water 3 times already. I believe that with the coticule is very difficult to overhone, for that reason, and just to start getting the feeling, for each round, I did like 60 to 80 laps. shaves in between.

I have shaved with it twice. I have to say that I was surprises how well the blade was feeling in my face. Better than before :w00t:. I was feeling it smoother and also easier to handle it. I think that buying a coticule has been really a good investment. Just beginning and I am really happy with it !!

Thanks for all the people that posted their suggestions in this thread.:thumbup1:

Motero57

I just re-read this thread from start to finish again. Can't thank the Masters enough for their knowledge!

Instead of buying a new str8 when I have 4 vints and a relatively new Dovo, I'm considering buying a coti or Nani 12K and a GD razor and playing around with it. I also already have a Barber's hone courtesy of Gugi. Until I figure out the new stone, I'll use the Barbers for touch ups.