What's new

Hone for beginner

Hello all

I am a beginner into straight razors. I came from DE shaving.

I will like to purchase a hone for maintaining my single blade. My razor is already sharpenned by a proffesional. I will like to purchase a hone in order to maintain it once it starts to get dull.

I am new to honing so I will like it to be a slow sharpening hone. I do not want to overhone the blade. I will only have one hone for maintenance and will not purchase pastes or anything alike.

I look for recommendation as I do not know what hone to buy, there are lots of them and I am totally lost.
It may be a barber hone (Where do they sell them?) or any other hone.

Suggestions are very very appreciated.
Thanks in advance.

Pretty much any finisher would work, it's just a question of preference (which includes budget). Any of a number of well known barber hones would do the trick, but they can be tough to find. A Naniwa SS 12k, Shapton 16, Shapton 30, coticule (though I don't like them as finishers because I don't find the edges as sharp as I like), C12k should all be easily purchased new.

Then there's the rest of the slew of naturals - too numerous to name. Some of the favorites seem to be Charnley Forest, Thuringian (Esher is a brand of Thuringian), the finer Nakayama's, etc etc.

You can also go for some time with a paste (such as chrome ox, .5 diamond or, I'm told, cerium ox) on a hanging or balsa strop. I don't really use pastes all that much, but I know the .5 diamond or chrome ox will work because I have used those.

Do keep in mind, if you get a slow hone, you'll have to do more strokes. Unless you are confident in your ability to make good strokes, this also means more chances to make a mistake. The likelyhood that you will overhone on a finisher is, imo, slim to none.