What's new

Help rate these blades (mild/aggressive).

Hello,

I am new to safety razor shaving and unfortunately where I am (South Africa) we have very few options in store to try.

We have...

BIC Chrome Platinum
Supermax Super Stainless (green pack)

And then two local blades which may be rebranded blades but I can't confirm what they may actually be.

A local online retailer sells 100/120 blade packs but I don't want to buy such large quantities and then hate the blades. So I am trying to narrow it down.

My razor is an Eclipse Red Ring and I have fairly sensitive skin. So I am looking for a good match for razor and skin.

The options for sale online are...

01. Schick Triple Coated (May be Wilkinson Sword in other regions).
02. Voskhod.
03. Dorco ST-300.
04. SuperMax Blue Diamond.
05. Zorrik Super Platinum.
06. Gillette Minora Stainless Steel (Yellow pack).

FYI I have tried the BIC and found them too sharp/harsh whatever it may be for me.

Thanks!

I recommend searching this forum for people's experiences with different blades. Like and dislike of particular blades seems to be very subjective. For example, a lot of people really dislike the Dorco ST300 blades but they work fine for me. I have just tried a Gillette Nacet blade for the first time for my last 3 shaves and so far I am not a fan (these do not seem to be smooth at all).

Another suggestion is to try a blade sampler with a set of different blades. Try each blade for 3-4 shaves and see what you like.

The SuperMax you have available are a good medium sharpness blade, I actually choose to buy them. There are a LOT of blades in this sharpness so I would recommend trying them and then deciding if they are too sharp. That will help us narrow down options for you.

If you are dead set on ordering something, the Schicks are the only thing that I would recommend.

Last edited:
Unfortunately where I am sample packs aren't available. Otherwise I would do so.

So this is why I ask.

FarmerTan