What's new

Help / Advice (merkur futur - derby blades)

Hi Im new to DE shaving, previosly using cartridge i could get a smooth finish all over, I dont get much growth as i shave before it gets to 0.5cm and its not dense

So far im...

Face wash, rinse multiple times
Cremo as a pre shave
Taylor of old bod street cream with Edwin Jagger brush

First time i used razor settings 3 WTG - 2 XTG - 1 ATG this some times felt like it was digging in, Face fairly smooth, odd little nick
Second shave 3 WTG - 2 XTG - 1 ATG this some times felt like it was digging in, Face smooth
Third shave 5 WTG - 3 XTG - 1 ATG this some times felt like it was digging in but not as much

Alum on face
rinse
Moisturiser or aftershave balm

So im at point now where my face is perfectly smooth, but neck wise feels a tad rough on the sides, which will be down to dailing my technique in

Ive not yet tried any other blades, but are the derbys not sharpe enough when going ATG and thats why they feel like they dig in and i dont want to pull on the razor

only other blade i have is the merkur

just after any tips on what to try next, Ive read soo many post on forums, and most just end up coming down to personal preference as everybodys face and skin is different

I think you summed it up in your last line. Personal preference.
I love using my Futur with Derby Premium on 1.5-2.5 setting.
You could try some Personna USA, Personna Platinum, Permasharp, etc.
The Merkur blade worked well, the Dovo too. Dovo worked so well I sprung for 100.

Well im unsure in UK where sells decent sample packs, so if anyone know wheres best please advise

The Derby ones i have are jut the EXTRA < Part reason I went for these for sake of £5 if i didnt like em there cheap, but other websites seem to sell some brands you`ve mentioned where you can buy 5-10, but then dont sell otheres there on another site, but then also charge delivery on each site bumping cost up