What's new

Gillette Tech + blades for newbie?

Shavers,

Recently introduced my step-grandson to a small Omega boar brush (Bigger Bambino) and a puck of VDH. So far, so good. Apparently he has fairly sensitive skin. He is now using Harry's razors. Previously he used an electric. (Sometimes he does a beard, or partial one.)

I am ready to pass on a nice post war ball end tech.

Question: What two or three blades should I give him to start? Remember, total newbie. So, I am thinking Feathers are not right. Astra? Personna?

What do you suggest for the young man? Thanks.

Maybe have a few blades for him to try, including Feather’s. Nacet, Kai’s. I started with Feathers in a Feather razor without any issues.

I tried techs while I was still "new" and found them to be frustrating. I have very heavy beard growth and my hair is much darker then my skin color so anything less then full on 100% BBS and you will see stubble on my face from a distance. The tech was so mild that even with a feather I still couldn't get rid of visible stubble. Feathers are weird for me, everyone says the sharper the blade the cleaner the cut but feathers don't shave me any closer or easier then other blades and do cause much more irritation. If he doesn't have heavy growth then a tech is probably a great starting point and could be paired very well with a gsb, personna, Astra SP, or nacet.

You also could just save him a lifetime of RAD by just giving him a slant to start :)

Derby Green perhaps? I've had decent luck with them, they keep an edge for like 4-5 shaves for me. I'm working my way through a sampler that apparently consists entirely of Lord-made brands. Of those I can only stand the Sharks. They shave well and last a while.
... And Wilkinson Sword blades.
I started off on these and like them too.

Good choice. Wish I had started out with a tech. For a blade i would go with astra, Gillette silver blue or personna.