What's new

G. F. Trumper soaps sub par?

Let me preface this by saying I started wet shaving in 2008 (never looked back!) and I tried some G.F. Trumpers rose soap back then but could not get a good lather. I got a thin watery blend and gave up on it as there are too many good soaps out there. I recently got a refill soap of their Eucris soap as I thought perhaps I was a rookie back then etc. ( you get the gist eh?). The Eucris is just as bad no matter how I try to get lather. Thin, watery , bubbly soap again! What am I doing wrong here? ( I tried Mantic's way, no luck) I am done with Trumpers. Taylor Of Old Bond Sandalwood soap is 100 times better than Trumper IMO. Sorry for the long rant!

Your not doing anything wrong.

If I have to do something that is more involved than other soaps to get the same results, then I do not care who the manufacturer is, it's not worth it especially if the price point is significantly higher.

I have tried a few Trumper samples (not the full tub, but I suspect the same results) and if the amount of work that is required just to get a decent lather is way more than dare I say anything from Barrister and Mann, (which is saying something for me .. :biggrin1: ) then it's time to move on.

Try using much less water and only a damp brush and load heavily, much more heavily then you typically do.

Their creams are top notch, IMO.

Last edited:
^+1!

Shaved last month with Eucris, used very little water; yes, i spent a little time whipping.
but i'm retired and i have the time!
overall great results, excellent scent!
Sorry it's not working for you.

trumpers eucris rooney joris may 29 2022.jpg

I've had the same experience. The Trumper's scents are wonderful. The creams are pretty good. The colognes and A/S products too. But I've been through 1 1/2 tubs of the rose soap and tossed the last half. What can I say I'm a slow learner.. Anyway too many better options to waste any more time on ut.

Your not doing anything wrong.