What's new

Feather blades and EJ DE89L

I will preface this with the fact that I am very new to wet shaving and DE in general. I have tried my new EJ with Personna and Iridium blades. No problems there, but a close shave seemed to take many many passes. This is the result of my technique needing improvement which I am working on. I've been rotating creams between VDH deluxe soap, Proraso green tea soap, weleda cream, tabac cream, and musgo real. Overall very good results, but musgo real and tabac are my favorites. So today I decided to try one of the infamous feather blades....wow is all I can say. Did I get nics? or weepers? ...does Sarah Palin say you betcha? :lol: Extremely sharp blade which made my newbie technique become all the more obvious. My face is a little worse for the wear right now, but its nothing that my Thayer's witch hazel and some good balm wont fix. It was a valuable learning experience, and a nice close shave even if I butchered myself a little. It just proved that there is no substitute for good products that are properly used...i guess I am now addicted, I just need to go back to iridium or derby blades for a bit longer until I am ready for the ninja blades :w00t:

Last edited:
Feathers are sharp.
They cut well.
I use the EJ89-feather combo at lot.
If I can do it it can't be that difficult.
Good technique comes with repetition. Keep after it.

"It just proved that there is no substitute for good products that are properly used..."
amen.

Great to hear. How well do you like the EJ razor overall, it is at the top of my "to buy" list, and I am tempted to pull the trigger right now.

Feathers are sharp.
They cut well.
I use the EJ89-feather combo at lot.
If I can do it it can't be that difficult.
Good technique comes with repetition. Keep after it.

"It just proved that there is no substitute for good products that are properly used..."
amen.