What's new

Dumbbell exercises

Luc

"To Wiki or Not To Wiki, That's The Question".
Staff member
I've been training with weights for a few months now but I am not seeing a lot of results (I know, it takes time). I understand that it depends on which muscles I want to target and also what I eat will influence the muscle growth.

I am wondering if I could add something to my routine. I use dumbbells to train (they came with the house when I bought it 5 years ago, I found them under the staircase).

I use the same weights for my exercises (maybe that's bad) but I feel my muscles moving and forcing so it should be okay (without pulling anything).

My dumbbell routine is:
  1. Bicep curls
  2. Shoulder press
  3. Tricep extensions
  4. Chess press
  5. Rope pull down (with dumbbells instead of a rope or cable).
  6. Romanian deadlifts
I do that set, 10-12 reps between 3 to 5 sets.

I'm trying to target the arms, shoulders, and back. Every day I either run or walk a good deal. I sometimes do a few pushups if I feel like it. It's not regular in every session.

Maybe lateral raises or shrugs would help? Or something else?

Dave himself

Wee Words of Wisdom
Train your largest muscle group first and train the smaller muscle groups after. For instance if your doing presses for your chest you are already using your triceps a lot in the pressing movement. So if you were to train your triceps first, before your chest they will be fatigued before your chest even gets anywhere near the work out it can take. Stretch and warm up before you even lift a weight. This will help you to stay injury free, if there is such a thing. Split your routine. Train back and biceps then a day of rest. Then chest or shoulders with triceps then a day of rest. Hope any of this helps. Oh and also keep the push ups going.

Not a fitness expert, just casual.