What's new

Cold Water Shavers. How did you start?

We have had many threads about cold water shaving vs hot water, but I'm curious as to whether any of you started with cold water at the beginning of the DE shaving experiance. Probably most of you transitioned slowly to cold water or still do some warm water and cold water shaves. I switched to cold over a period of 1-2 months because it has been better for me and the physiology of of the hair shaft and follicle makes more sense for cold water methods. However, it is not a religious experiance and the only strong feelings I have are avoiding extreme temperatures, hot or cold. Does anybody know what % of B&B members cold water shave? Please let me know. I have never suggested cold water shaving to a newbie. They have enough to think about.

Gus

Against every opinion I ever herd, I have beter results using cold (many times) or warm (fewer times) water instead of hot.

Gus, I've been CWSing since November of 2010 after participating in this Thread; http://badgerandblade.com/vb/showth...shaving-it-works?highlight=cold+water+shaving

First, there are no rules set in stone, experimenting is crucial to comfortable shaves, I use cold water to; Soak my Brush, wet & rinse my Face and clean my Razor. The Brush water is used to build my lather after showering, this puts the water temp around room temperature. The fact is no matter how you shave, hot/warm or cold water, the hotter your water is for building lather the less stable the lather will be, breaking down quicker. If using room temp or warm water helps you build a better lather , than do it.