What's new

Closer shave with a cartridge razor, please help!!!!

Help!!!!!

First time post so sorry if it is in the wrong place to post.

Hello everyone!!!

I have been shaving with a safety razor for about 6 months. I'm using a Merkur 34c, Astra Superior Platinum blade, TOBS Sandalwood shaving cream and a Frank Shaving pure badger brush. The problem is I can't get a close shave on my neck and when I try I end up cutting myself and get a red shaving rash. I am shaving in all the right directions. I really dont want to go back to a cartridge razor, but i get a closer shave on my neck with one. Please help!!!!

Have you tried any other blades? I haven’t tried those but I hear mixed reviews. Either love or hate. I couldn’t get near close shaves with Dorco but yet I get very close shaves, if not borderline exfoliation, with Gillette-Wilkinson

Edit: borderline exfoliation, not irritation. Just feel that top layer of skin peel but no burn or irritation :)

Help!!!!!

First time post so sorry if it is in the wrong place to post.

Hello everyone!!!

I have been shaving with a safety razor for about 6 months. I'm using a Merkur 34c, Astra Superior Platinum blade, TOBS Sandalwood shaving cream and a Frank Shaving pure badger brush. The problem is I can't get a close shave on my neck and when I try I end up cutting myself and get a red shaving rash. I am shaving in all the right directions. I really dont want to go back to a cartridge razor, but i get a closer shave on my neck with one. Please help!!!!

The problem is I can't get a close shave on my neck and when I try I end up cutting myself and get a red shaving rash.
When you are cutting yourself you are using the wrong angle. When you are getting a rash you are using too much pressure.