What's new

Attn Bicycle Gurus

I've remembered... This is my first time on a bike and wearing a helmet (last time I was riding a bike before, helmets were unheard of outside velodromes and only wowsers wore them) - being somewhat out of shape (apart from Bibendum look-a-like competitions, I'm hot to trot for those :biggrin:) I'm perspiring a fair bit and I now have what can only be described as a "sweaty helmet" :eek: the smell (particularly when it warms up) is really quite disgusting

Are there any wonder cures or recommended washing agents that won't (a) damage the helmet and (b) give me a rash?

I'd suggest wearing a bandana or something under the helmet, it keeps the helmet clean and keeps sweat out of your eyes. I do this in the heat of summer and it really helps. Also, try hitting the pads with a little bit of baby powder after your ride. That should soak up the sweat and leave a powdery frangrance, just make sure to flick the extra powder out before you put the helmet back on, otherwise you'll have a funny white outline on your head.

For more generic pairs of mtb bike tires it really won't matter. I can't imagine why they would print that on the tires. I've got a very nice pair of stubby tires where the rear tire has horizontal tread and the front tire has tread pointed more forward. The idea is the rear tire is to create traction to propel and the rear keeps the bike on the intended path.

But if yours are the same, probably no real difference. If the rear walls are thicker the wieght would be different. You could check that. But probably not the case.

Used to work in a bike shop in college.:001_smile