What's new

[Long] Newbie check-in + Need help

Hey there all, I just joined the community so I decided I might as well introduce myself. (TL; DR at the bottom, if you're not inclined to reading through it all)

I've been wet shaving pretty much since I started shaving, entirely self-taught (yikes). I don't know how much text is welcome here, but I'm a reader and fancy myself a bit of a writer, so I'll give you guys my history if anyone is interested. Do expect some issues despite my fluency though, as English isn't my mother tongue.

So, I had to start shaving when I was about 14~15, as many do, because those fine whiskers were getting me some mockery in high school. Not that the mockery bothered me as such, it was a single guy and that was the only thing he had to use against me. It just turned out that he was right on the money that my whiskers, thin and pale as they were then, were getting rather long. I asked my dad for some advice getting started, but I think my vestibular lesson lasted all of 5 minutes. My dad has had a deficit in the father department himself, so he didn't much know how to help. To this day he shaves with electric razors/cartridges in the shower without mirrors, with canned stuff, if he decides to go clean shaven at all. When I was younger, he used to do more of an effort to be shaven cause my mom and I hated "itchy kisses", now not so much.