What's new

A home made scuttle/holder

Good evening gentlemen,

I recently got creative and made my own scuttle / brush holder, and it's not bad. Please note that I prioritize functionality over looks, so try not think out loud too much (some of you will probably fall to the floor while others may find it smart and original).

I am doing this because I am a total newbie to str8 and wet shaving, and in a few months, I will treat myself to a nice shave kit (silver tip brush, bowl, holder, maybe a scuttle,etc).

Also, I somewhat damaged my boar brush base since I tampered with it.
I'm actually not even sure if it's boar hair - it came in a shave kit package from a few years ago (crappy stuff).

Finally, DON'T try this at home (if you have nice shaving equipment) because it's really not worth it. But for me - whatever, I don't care for now. I haven't even tried str8 shaving yet (waiting for my first blade to come)!

Ok, get ready.....

You ruined a nice wood bowl and shave brush for what reason?

I agree,"Necessity is the mother of invention." As long as there is thought/reason behind the invention. I am speaking from experience, when I say I have created some god awful/terrible inventions in my lifetime. There have been many times, when after I did something without the thouroughness of thought, I had to ask myself, "Why did you do that?" I am not trying to be harsh or a smartass. I am pointing out that some of our ideas do not work very well, or should not have been done.

Last edited:

Luc

"To Wiki or Not To Wiki, That's The Question".
Staff member
That looks like a cheap bristle brush, no real harm... Agreed that water in that hole might speed up the rotting process of the brush. However, it's one way to do it!

That looks like a cheap bristle brush, no real harm... Agreed that water in that hole might speed up the rotting process of the brush. However, it's one way to do it!