What's new

A few heretic truths about DE shaving

As you may know by now I have been shaving exclusively with a DE razor since 1980 so the various "complications" that many fine gents here get from this type of shaving sometimes amuse me....:biggrin1:

In reality DE shaving is not harder or more complicated than shaving w/ a disposable here are some SIMPLE truths :

1.You don't NEED to use a brush and shaving cream or soap...a can of shaving foam will do JUST fine and give you EXACTLY the same shave .

2.You don't need to cork the blade for it to become...smoother..it is as smooth as it gets and at its sharpest when brand new

3.You don't need to....toss the blade after 1 shave trust me it can give you at least 4 great shaves

4.You will also not win 1 million dollars if you manage to shave with the same blade 100 times :lol:

5.You don't need 30 minutes to shave ,you can do a 4 pass shave in 5-6 minutes tops

6.You don't need 20 minutes to...prep you beard using preshaves,oils and exotic contortions just take a nice HOT shower wash you face with soap and you will be fine...NOTHING beats a hot shower

7.Cold shaving is a joke :thumbup1: :biggrin1: nothing beats hot water...nothing will in the years to come...no hot water= no close shave....

8.Get you technique down and ALL blades become equal more or less,same thing with razors.

9.DE shaving is DE shaving it is NOT "wet shaving" all people that are using WATER when they shave are wet shavers.

10.A DE razor will give a MUCH closer shave than any modern razor simply because its blade exposure is larger.

11.Not all people can get a BBS shave without irritation simply because not all skin types can tolerate ATG shaving .

12.A Feather blade won't kill you,it is just another blade

13.There is no best blade..so in reality ALL talk about what the best blade is is...irrelevant :001_smile....blades are 100% a YMMV thing ....