What's new

SCS New Spice

Item Description

This is my first attempt at writing a review of a cologne, but I like this one that much, that I hope I can do it justice. I love the SCS New Spice family of products. I have the shave soap, a bottle of the aftershave milk (a limited thing I won in an email contest!), and now the cologne. My shave den will never be without these products (so you all need to support Sue, so she will never go out of business). Okay, here is the run down:

Price - $13.50 for 3.3 oz. Are you kidding me? When you experience the quality of this product, you will be scratching your head wondering what the catch is. How can she sell amazing stuff for less than those cheap imitation things you find in drug stores?

Quality - Can't be beat. I'm more impressed with this than most other colognes I have spent at least 3X as much for.

Packaging - Nothing too fancy, but it is a nice glass bottle. I got it for Christmas, and when I pulled it out of the box, my brother-in-law commented on how he thought it was a cool looking bottle.

Scent - I don't know how best to describe it. The only note that I can definitely say is there is caramel, which Sue describes on the website. However, I recently smelled a bottle of Giorgio Armani Attitude, and it seemed, to me, a dead ringer minus the caramel note (which is the high point for me). So if you have smelled that, you'll have a good idea - one review I found said that Attitude had top notes of coffee and lemon, heart notes of cardamom and lavender, and base notes of cedar, patchouli, and vanilla, creating a "coffee-amber" base note aroma. I don't know how close that is to what Sue has put into New Spice, but to my nose, as I said, Attitude smells like New Spice, just without the caramel, which is present from beginning to end.

Complexity - I would refer you to the scent comments.