What's new

Merkur Double-Edge Travel Razor

Item Description

A nice, small rzor for travel, or even everyday use.

The handle is short; about 2.5-3", I'd say, and breaks apart (unscrews) into two seperate pieces. The head, like most (all?) Merkurs screws off and seperates into two. A compact storage case is included, and of decent quality.

This razor seems to me to be pretty much the same as my Merkur Long Classic, save for the shortened break-apart handle. It seems to sahve about the same, which is to say that this is a quality razor but might be a bit on the un-aggressive size, as seems to be the consensus with Merkurs (I have no experience with other razors, so nothing against which to compare). Nonetheless, proper technique and a good blade gets me as close a shave as I care to get. A good product, nicely portable, highly reccommended.

Latest reviews

Pros: A great shave, impressively compact
Cons: A little lightweight
I received this razor as a present a couple of weeks ago and as I have been working away from home it has been my go-to razor (I normally use an EJ89). The razor came with Merkur Super Blade and the vendor also threw in a 5 pack of Treet Platinums. I have been immensely impressed with this little beauty. Slightly more agressive than a Gillette Tech I feel but less so than my EJ. Every shave so far has been BBS with no nicks or weepers, using either of the supplied blades. I'll try a Derby next but I am sure that the result will be the same. I used my EJ last weekend witha Treet blade and ended up with several nicks and an inferior shave to that I have been getting with this Merkur and I suspect I have been converted and that my EJ will be relegated. I now need to decide what standard size Merkur to buy! To think I switched to DE shaving to save money!
Grip
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Balance
3.00 star(s)
Quality
4.00 star(s)
Adjustability
0.00 star(s)
User Friendly
5.00 star(s)
Aggressiveness
1.00 star(s)
Ease of Blade Replacement