What's new

Gillette Tech ball end - It is a mild shaver - Need to adapt my shaving techniques?

Gentlemen,

As some of you may have noticed here in The Score, I found some Gillette razors.

One of them is an alu Tech (kindly identified by B&B member Merwtje - thx!).
Opinions seem to differ. Merwtje classifies the Tech as a 'bit aggressive', the B&B wiki denotes it 'a mild shaver'.

I found it to be very mild - in fact a bit too mild for my likings.
After two shaves, I found a way too handle it and it does the job, but for a good shave I still have to get back to my Muhle R106 for a second pass.

The question here is: So, did I do something wrong? Need to adapt my shaving techniques?

Any tips to use this razor a bit more effective?

The razor:
proxy.php

My first DE was a Tech. It is indeed a very mild shaver, at least with the blades I tried in it. Too mild for my taste. I much prefer my SS's and my Slim, now that I'm a veteran of almost three months of this DE shaving thing :001_smile

I have read that the Tech does yoeman work when combined with a Feather blade, but I have yet to try that combination...

After two shaves, I found a way too handle it and it does the job, but for a good shave I still have to get back to my Muhle R106 for a second pass.

The question here is: So, did I do something wrong? Need to adapt my shaving techniques?

How many total passes are you doing with the Tech?

I don't think it's realistic to expect a close, comfortable shave with one pass from any DE razor.

The name of the game is "beard reduction", which means each pass reduces your beard, more than the previous one. The final result being a close, stubble free shave.

You can't eliminate your beard hair in one pass, unless you apply a ton of pressure, and then irritation, and cuts are bound to result. OUCH!

Last edited:
I have a fat handle and a ball end Tech. Both are mild, yes, but when partnered with a Feather or other sharp blade, its great!!