What's new

Straight Razor Acquisition Thread

My wife is happy that my collection easily fits into two cigar boxes and doesn't require a new insurance policy or a rider on an existing one.

77DBDA70-E734-4B05-AF8D-A198EDE251BA.jpeg

Recent addition to the Ralf Aust clan (#9).
7/8 with ovangkol scales. This guy sure makes one nice razor.

Proud owner of a William Greaves & Sons courtesy of eBay. My guess is that it dates to pre-1850 based on the manufacturing history. Really excited to get it in hand, cleaned up, and shaving.
s-l1600-2.jpg

Found this at a thrift store today. 13/16" blade with a 1/4" thick spine, white pearl colored scales with "Matador" in gold letters on it.
The tang reads "MATADOR, 28.968, SPAIN" and has a bulls head logo. It looks like it's never been used and was sharp enough to shave the hair on my arm. Although I'm still learning to hone I did 100+ laps on a blue Thuringian (Escher?) and got a great edge (for me) on it.
This is a heavy razor and I like the feel of it in my hand. However I can't find anything about this razor anywhere. Could it be some type of Filarmonica?
If anyone knows anything about this razor please let me know.
If I can get a good edge on this I may use it to learn to shave with.

I have a 28.969 . It is much smaller. The etching and gold wash is remarkably
similar to a JMP doble temple.
DSCN0743b.jpg
DSCN0744b.jpg

Attachments

• DSCN0747b.jpg
    DSCN0747b.jpg
    972.9 KB · Views: 20
Ok so I'm finally getting round to this - after a few ebay false starts I've got a selection which I'm happy with for now. I know none of them are anything special in the grand scheme of things, but I'm just happy to have a few reliably sharp razors to switch between while I'm still learning with an SR.

#1 - an old 5/8 Bismarck, not one of the very old ones but a very forgiving, sharp blade