What's new

Your setup and routine

Hey everyone! B&B and wet shaving noob here! I have been rummaging around the forums and multiple shave websites and YouTube as I look to perfect my first wet shaving experience and have been taking plenty of mental notes on which razors, soaps, boar or badger brushes, creams whipped in a bowl, soap pucks in an apothecary mug and which pre-shave and post shave for this face and that face. As a first timer, this is a lot to take in and try to understand and I realize that I should just dive in and find whats right for me. But it got me thinking... What does everyone else use and what routine do they have?

This may already be a post that I haven't seen, but I think it could both fun and educational for everyone. Just list your setup of equipment and products (and be sure to list brand names and fragrances) and then your routine you go through from pre-shave to post shave.

I look forward to seeing your replies! :001_smile

Hi Wells, Welcome to wet shaving!

Having used and tested many products, I'd like to think that I've managed to narrow down the products I use to a set that I'd be happy using for ever. I a bit of a minimalist, so more than happy to use as few products as possible.

Products:

Edwin Jagger Silvertip Brush
Merkur 38c Barbers Pole (ikon Slant on Order! Ooh Yeah!)
Personna Lab Blue, or Polsilver SI blade
Biotique Bio Palmyra Cream
GFT Sandal Wood and Coral Skin food (Using up Sandalwood first, wont be buying it again, I get much better results with Coral)

Routine and products:
- Soak brush in cold water -(No set time, just until I'm ready to shave) I get better shaves when using cold water
- Wet face, apply some GFT Skin food mixed with Aloe vera gel
- Load and get ready to shave, all the while splashing more water on my face
- 3 Pass, WTG, XTG, Sharp XTG (almost ATG)
- Leave Bio Palmyra Cream on until, finished cleaning brush
- Wash face and splash Witch Hazel on
- Finish cleaning razor, sink etc
- Shower