What's new

Why so complicated?

strop

Now half as wise
Or at least it seems that way at first. The manual, that is.

I was really getting interested in photography over 30 years ago. I had done a little darkroom work in college and enjoyed it. Beck then I had a Nikon FM and FE. I was completely self taught but was starting to take better pictures, and then career and family started occupying my time. It took so long for me to take a picture because I had to think everything thru, (not yet second nature) and missed too many shots or messed up too many, that I ended up using the FE exclusively just for family shots. Once digital point and shoot came out, they really started to collect dust, and I sold them many years ago when I could still get something for film cameras. I did not have any Nikon lenses, since I never felt I was good enough to justify the cost. At least 8 or 9 years ago I got a Pentax K200. I started to read the manual and was so overwhelmed by the terminology and the gazillion settings, that it became a point and shoot and I never took it off auto mode.

I signed up for an evening beginning photo class at the local college to see if I could learn to make some sense of all this. It still seems like everything is more complicated than it should be. I mean, there are 3 basic things to adjust, right? aperture, shutter speed and exposure (ISO). OK maybe 4-white balance. That stuff came back pretty fast, but there are so many controls on this camera it makes my head swim, trying to remember everything.

At least I've taken some pictures now off AUTO! So far I'm using an aperture priority setting (seems like the FE was like this IIRC) but I'll eventually get around to complete manual mode. I'm hoping the class will force me to take pictures more often just to remember how to use this thing!

Mark,