What's new

Why don't car makers make direct drive electric hybrids?

As a former engineer, I sometimes preoccupy my mind with questions of engineering, and the one question I have the hardest time answering is why car makers make their hybrid cars so dadgum complicated.

It seems pretty simple to me. Small internal combustion engine (designed and controlled to provide enough energy at very high fuel efficiency) connected to a battery that is connected to one or more electric motors that directly drive the wheels. No bulky transmission, no giant high performance engine, no squeezing the battery between the seats.

Of course, the answer is likely one of three things:
1) the battery isn't able to keep up with the energy demands;
2) the electric motors aren't able to keep up with the energy demands; or
3) doing it this way is so heavy that you lose any gains in efficiency.

Does anybody know better why car makers are sticking with the more complicated hybrid systems?

Your idea has worked well with locomotives, without batteries, for almost 100 years. Now they are starting to insert batteries in-line and not having to surge the engine so much.

Slash McCoy

I freehand dog rockets
I have experimented with electric drive and repowered my boat to electric. I have built and commuted with electric bikes. I have taken a hard look at what it takes to build an electric car. Just establishing my bonafides.