What's new

Which razor?

Can anyone please advice... I have been using a safety razor for some time but now want to switch to a straight/cut throat. I have never used one before.
I have been considering the The Feather Artist Club SS Japanese Style Professional non-folding razor but the blades are more expensive.
My barber recommended that I buy a fixed blade and sharpen myself (I am used to sharpening carpentry blades)

Really confused as there are so many and the price ranges are massive especially here in the UK.

Many thanks for any advice.

Neil :confused1

Welcome to Badger & Blade.

I'd recommend getting a vintage razor (or two) and a strop kit from Whipped Dog. It's in the U.S., but I think it would still be a smart deal, as it has everything you need in order to get started.

WD does have some good deals.
But first - it might pay to do a LOT of reading through the myriad of posts here on B&B about different types of razors, beginners struggles, etc.
Knowledge is power. Of course you can just play 'follow the leader' now, figure the rest of the stuff out later.

I'm in the same boat. I've been using a de for the past two years and want to start with a straight. I just ordered one sight unseen from whipped dog and also got a poor mans strop. I figure I need to get familiar with it all before committing some heavy funds toward it. Besides there's so much reading still to do! Best of luck!

I started with a great starter kit from Larry (Whipped Dog) and added a couple of sight unseen razors over time. Then, I tried the Feather kamisori style and have never looked back. The blades are expensive at nearly $I each but they last 10 - 15 shaves. Trust me, it is much cheaper in the long run than traditional straight razors. Honing, strops, stones can add up fast.