What's new

Which razor to buy?

Ok,

I am a newbie to this whole DE thing, but I really like what I have seen thus far. I've taken the first step of getting away from my beloved shave gel's and have moved to a badger/water/shave cream mixture with an aftershave and I absolutely love it. I'm ready for step 2, getting the dreaded DE itself.

Here are the challenges I face.

1) I can find some great deals and probably great razors on ebay. I can find all sorts of varieties from gillette to murkur to whoever. BUT???? Can I find the blades? Say I get a great deal only to find the blades are a total pain in the *** to find?

2) Amazon.com seems to have a good selection of Murkur razors and blades, seems like a reputable and reliable source for the future. I should be able to easily replace my blades with this method.

3) Combine the two problems together with the fact that nowhere in my town does a store offer ANY of these products. God help you if you go to a store and ask for a DE, you will get sent to the electronics section of the store without doubt.

So that begs the question "What to do?"

Thanks in advance gents!

BTW, on a side comment, I should tell you all that I converted to my shaving experience with L'ocitaine products. I find them to be absolutely top notch. I bought the cream and aftershave. This was about $50 upfront, but based on the usage I am seeing so far I should get about 3 months usage out of the pair, which lowers that price to about $17.00 a month.

The state of shaving in this country (USA) is a direct reflect on the integrity and overall state of the country. No more quality and products manufactured here, just cheap Chinese crap we're supposed to pay too much for and toss out after 2 uses. No thank you!

So that begs the question "What to do?"

Find a B&B member (or several of them) who is/are willing to loan you several DE razors for a month or two, so that you can "test drive" 'em. A posting in the "Newbie" forum will get replies.