What's new

What do you like about synthetic brushes?

I am asking this question because I got one, and I just don't see the appeal. I want to learn how to appreciate this brush, but it's hard when:

It doesn't want to splay. I have to paint the lather on.

It won't make lather with the tips, when I try the Italian Barber process, which has become my go-to lathering process.

It splatters lather on my mirror.

The brush is a Simpson Duke 3 with Platinum bristles. It should be a good synthetic brush, but I'm having trouble figuring out what's good about it.

I'm not an expert on the subject and I don't own a Simpson brush, but I refuse to let that stop me from weighing in...

I like the fact that the characteristics of a synthetic brush don't change much over time through regular use. And they dry relatively fast compared to natural bristles.

I find it easier to splay a brush if I start with the point of my chin. That's a tip I picked up here in one of the forums.

I'm not familiar with the "Italian Barber process"; what is it? I have had issues of lather splatter. I solved it by using less water and loading a damp (not dripping wet) brush.

These are just my observations and opinions. Good luck with your journey.

Last edited:
I'm in the same boat. I have one and I feel like its the cartridge razor of shaving brushes. The pros are that it was inexpensive and it absorbs water quickly. Compared to boar and badger, My synthetic leaves me unsatisfied. I miss the scrub of my animals hair brushes when I would use my synthetic.

I am asking this question because I got one, and I just don't see the appeal. I want to learn how to appreciate this brush, but it's hard when:

It doesn't want to splay. I have to paint the lather on.

It won't make lather with the tips, when I try the Italian Barber process, which has become my go-to lathering process.

It splatters lather on my mirror.