What's new

What are your "top five" inks?

Doc4

Stumpy in cold weather
Staff member
... and why?

Okay, an explanation ... I'm putting together a Goulet order, and was wondering which inks to toss in the basket. You may just sway me to try one of your favourites.

Well, beyond that, it's still fun to chat about which inks we like best.

I'm not the one to ask.... I have been using nothing but vintage inks for the last 8 months. I have a boatload

strop

Now half as wise
A couple off the top of my head are R&K Salix and Diamine Denim, both blue-black, asa-gao, Eclat de Sahir, and Grand Canyon brown.

Noodler's Bad Belted Kingfisher
Noodler's Ottoman Azure
Aurora Blue
Waterman's Havana Brown
Private Reserve Sherwood Green

Doc4

Stumpy in cold weather
Staff member
I'm not the one to ask.... I have been using nothing but vintage inks for the last 8 months. I have a boatload

Hah!

It was your recent comment about Diamine Registrar's ink being one of your top-five that got me thinking about this.

:lol:

All are Noodler's as I prefer my inks to be waterproof. Colors posted are only approximate.

Goulet Exclusive: Liberty's Elysium. A great blue ink.
Black. Everyone needs one and this one is definitely black.
5 O'Clock Shadow. The hint of green makes it just "off" enough to tickle me. An exclusive from West Coast Shaving, btw.
Fox (red). For those times I need to correct spelling and grammar mistakes. But really bought to use for Christmas cards.
And last, my personal favorite: Black Swan in Australian Roses. A nice dark burgundy shade. This is the only ink I keep in two pens at the same time. It is (in my opinion) suitable for business use but has a uniqueness to it that makes it certain no-one else in my company will have anything like it.