What's new

What and where should a new wet shaver for his first month of shaving

Hello All,

Started wet shaving earlier this month and have picked up a Weidi Razor, what other items are good for a total beginner.

On a budget and honestly not sure if I will like it so plan on purchasing only the essentials for a good shave.

I used to buy the 36 pack of customplus 3 at costco around $35 and shave gel $10, and it usually last me 6 - 7 months.

Will wet shaving really save you money after 6 months according to some articles and blogs I have read?

It will save you money if you don't start buying everything like some of us do.

For a beginner, my recommendation would be to get a Gillette Tech off ebay. They usually cost between $10 and $30. For blades I would recommend Astra stainless, but the platinum blades are good, too.

The reason lt is theoretically cheaper is that blades don't cost much. You can buy 100 blades for between 10 and 25 Us dollars. A blade usually lasts about 4-5 shaves.

Good luck and have fun.

If you are creeped out by a vintage razor, I am pretty sure that Gillette sells razorsmwith a Tech-like head brand new in the Indian market. Off the top of my head I don't remember exactly what the name of the razor is, but somebody will come along with the answer pretty soon.

Hello All,

Started wet shaving earlier this month and have picked up a Weidi Razor, what other items are good for a total beginner.

On a budget and honestly not sure if I will like it so plan on purchasing only the essentials for a good shave.

I used to buy the 36 pack of customplus 3 at costco around $35 and shave gel $10, and it usually last me 6 - 7 months.

Will wet shaving really save you money after 6 months according to some articles and blogs I have read?