What's new

Vtg Gillette DE razors-newbie help, please

I found three old Gillette DE razors in an antique shop this morning... they seemed cheap and clean and am hoping someone can help me figure out what I've got. Blades are changed by unscrewing the handle and lifting off the top two parts. Two are more light-weight and say Gillette on the top. They are both silver colored with a ball shape on the bottom of the handle, but one has a 3" handle and the short one has a 2" handle. The other razor is heavier, doesn't say Gillette on the top. The top part of the razor is silver colored and the middle part is brass colored and has comb edges. On the bottom of the brass comb part, it says Gillette in tiny letters. Any information would be appreciated. I'm trying to attach a picture, but it's my first try here, so I'm unsure if it'll work. Thanks

album.php

View attachment 71089

The little one is a travel razor
The one in the middle is a ball end tech
The last one looks like a NEW head on an aluminum TECH handle
not 100% sure.

The third razor has a New De Luxe guard but I have a feeling the cap doesn't go with it. The fat Tech handle certainly doesn't belong. We need a close-up photo of the inside of the guard and cap and a side view of the assembled razor. It doesn't look like it's a fit.

Len

Here are three other pics of that third razor. All three parts of it look equally as old as the others. The top part definitely looks old and doesn't say "Gillette" on the top like the other two. Maybe either because it isn't a Gillette part (the brass part does say Gillette) or because the older Gillettes didn't say Gillette on the top?? Thanks for your help.

razor open1.jpg (26.1 KB)View attachment 71097

razor open 2.jpg (26.9 KB)

razor side view.jpg (22.8 KB)

Good razors to start out with, you have to begin somewhere and this is as good a place as any. Have a little fun trying them out with a few different blades.