What's new

Tribute Scents

There are a lot of soaps (and splashes) out there that pay tribute to (rip off?) famous edts or aftershaves from years past. I've had some great experiences and some meh experiences, so I appreciate that matching someone else's scent is easier said than done. It's all the more impressive if it's in a soap base that outperforms. If anyone else has had similarly good experiences I'd be interested to hear. Here are my experiences with some classic scents and the soaps they inspired:

JPG Le Male edt = Eufros Gea
. I don't own Le Male, I own Boellis Panama 1924 edt which is very similar. The scent and performance of this soap are both stellar. Boellis makes a cream in this scent (not to be confused with their world class soap of the same name that's almond-scented) but the performance was weak when I sampled it. Eufros (Jabonman) is hard to get, but I have used two of their soaps and sniffed a number of others as Pasteur's in NYC and have nothing but good things to say about the whole line. 5 of 5 stars (scent and performance total experience)

Brut AS = Wholly Kaw La Fougère Parfaite. I don't know if WK was specifically paying tribute to Brut when they made this scent, but the similarities are undeniable. FP has a mint note that stands out a little vs Brut and FP is also more organic / natural in it's scent. So I wouldn't say the scent is a dead ringer, but that's okay because I like the WK version exactly as it is. The donkey milk base is worthy of the praise it gets, which is a lot. I also have the matching toner which is excellent. 5 stars

Floid Blue AS/edt = Barrister and Mann Cool
Gillette Sun Up AS = B&M Classic