What's new

Am I Chasing A Unicorn?

I'm fairly new to the safety razor/shaving soap/shaving brush world (used to use cartridges and Cremo). I love learning and value the time I am spending perfecting my technique but more importantly maximizing the satisfaction of investing in my health and happiness. I want my alternate day shave to be a time of relaxation and enjoyment. I also hope to graduate to a daily shave at some point.

To that end, I have a strategy in mind that I wanted to get some feedback on. It is partly formed by my experience in bourbon, where I bought many popular bottles and ended up not liking them and resenting the money I spent on them and having to finish the bottles. I am thankful that many retailers have samples, and am leveraging them to find my favorites, across brands and scents. If I do not finish my shave with the feeling of "I love this soap," I will not buy a full tub of it.

My goal is to settle on 7 to 14 soaps that I absolutely love and can't wait to use, split across a Summer rotation and a Winter rotation. The range 7-14 is to account for soaps that may be appropriate for year-round use. With this strategy, I would use a soap a minimum of once every two weeks (for half the year if seasonal). Here is what I am thinking so far, and where I welcome feedback:

Winter: Something that reminds me of a Food, Traditional British, Barbershop, Tobacco, Tabac, Old Spice Homage, Leather
Summer: Unscented, Traditional British, Tropical, Boozy, Marine, Fougere, Cologne

TIA!

Eben Stone

Staff member
My goal is to settle on 7 to 14 soaps that I absolutely love and can't wait to use, split across a Summer rotation and a Winter rotation.
Good luck with that. Haha. It's not impossible. In approx 3.5 years I've tried 123 varieties of soaps (about half were samples). I've narrowed down my favorites to 12 soaps and there are definitely some specific winter and summer scents. I currently have more than those top 12 so I need to do some PIFs.