What's new

Tired of going through a length wet/dry progression? Read this.

So I’ve been restoring blades for roughly ten years now (with some long gaps in the middle), and have also done a lot of hand tool restorations for myself and on commissions.

Rust removal/polishing has, and will always be the thin despise most. It takes up THE MAJORITY of my time and energy, and is extremely monotonous/boring.

I have done it ALL. Electrolysis/LYE tanks, bead blasting, evaporust, wire wheels (steel and 100 % brass), sandpaper, scotchbrite, steel wool, Dremel (and every attachment they have ever made), vinegar baths, etc, etc, etc…

The only one I haven’t done (due to the insane cost and licensing requirement) is high powered laser rust removal.

Some things work better in different scenarios, but I almost always end up going back to paper for at least a portion of a job. My right hand is chronically sore/tight from countless hours of sanding tiny areas for what seems like eternities. I wish I could just take everything that had rust on it over to my 3m Deburring/Polishing wheel and go to town, but it’s not an option (especially with razors).

Well I believe that I may have discovered something that will absolutely change the game of restoring razors for me (and possibly you too)

I’ve never been a fan of using a dremel on razors before; learned that the hard way. There isn’t a single attachment/ accessory that allowed you to remove rust/polish in a precise manner (without removing too much steel, doing it in s non-uniform way, overheating, etc…). The sanding wheels (strip of paper wrapped around a rubber cylinder) dig out chunks even at the highest grit. The sanding disks aren’t the right shape, and also are very difficult to stay precise with. The buffing sponges (those bushy grey and purple things) are overpriced garbage and start deteriorating the second you touch a surface them.