What's new

Thinking about building...

Hi all. I've never built a brush before. I've got some very pretty, old, walnut burl I was thinking of turning into a few handles.

I guess I need to order a couple knots.

My questions are:

1. When setting the knot, do you set them past the past the band on the knot, or only that deep? Why or why not?

2. What finish is recommended for something like a burl walnut?

there are no hard and fast rules for how deep to set the knot, as far as I've seen. I'm waiting on a handle and knot to assemble my firsst brush and all my questions have been answered in "experiment and see." You can set the knot as deep (reducing the loft, increasing relative density and perceived backbone) or as shallow (as long as the base plug is completely seated, increasing loft, and making a softer or potentially "floppier" brush).

It all comes down to how you want the brush to behave, and the characteristics of the knot you choose. Some say face lather=short loft, bowl lather=longer loft. Others will say any brush will serve your needs if you like it.

I'm sure others will weigh in with more experienced responses, so best of luck. Sorry, i have no idea about wood treatment, but I've seen a lot of references to oiling vs.polyurethane/varnish....

For the restores I have done, they have all been deeper than the plug. In some cases, quite a bit so.
My 1st few were done with a 50mm loft in mind. That meant setting the knots around 13mm deep. For the <50mm lofts, I set them even deeper.

I can't remember ever setting the knot with the top of the plug even with the top of the handle.

Good luck, and post your progress. The walnut burl sounds beautiful.

I can't help you with the wood because I don't know how to handle it. I am a newbie when dealing with wood, but I better learn since one of these days I plan on making my own handle.
All my efforts have been with restores, none of them wood.