What's new

Sushi

Anyone here make their own sushi? I'm just getting into sushi (only had it about 4 times) but love to cook. Living near Seattle there is no shortage of good quality fish so I guess I'm curious how you started and if you have any good recommendations/recipes to share.

DoctorShavegood

"A Boy Named Sue"
@10pht

Sushi is not just about the rice. It includes a quality nori, fish, shrimp, crab or vegetable, etc. Rolling the darn thing is art.

ouch

Stjynnkii membörd dummpsjterd
The best part about sushi is that it's the perfect excuse to get yourself a nice sushi knife.

Ftfy~ Aaron

Last edited by a moderator:

Alacrity59

Wanting for wisdom
When you are doing it for yourself you can eat the disasters. It is fun. Bit of finely chopped carrot, avocado, cucumbers. Sheet of nori down on the sushi mat. Sprinkle with sesame seeds. Spread out sticky rice. Add the veg and slowly roll. (I like veggie sushi).

Been making sushi wrecks for decades. Good stuff.

I find the main issue with making it at home is the lack of variation. I usually stick with tuna and make some California rolls and that is about it.

proxy.php

proxy.php

Legion

Staff member
When I was a boy my father fancied himself as pretty good at making asian cuisine (actually, he had been taught by people who really knew their stuff, so he was pretty good.)

I remember him making the rice for the sushi, and as he poured and mixed in the flavour mixture (the recipe for which I can no longer remember) into the rice, he had me fan it like crazy to cool it quickly. Apparently this gave it a nice "glaze".

Seems like a lot of trouble to go to for home sushi, but that was him.

Alacrity59

Wanting for wisdom
When I was a boy my father fancied himself as pretty good at making asian cuisine (actually, he had been taught by people who really knew their stuff, so he was pretty good.)